Sunday, May 19, 2024
HomeNewsWhy is Hindi Diwas held in 2023? What languages are used in...

Why is Hindi Diwas held in 2023? What languages are used in India?

On September 14, India observes National Hindi Diwas to honor and protect the Hindi language. 2023’s “Hindi Diwas” will be celebrated on September 14 by Indians. The Republic of India officially recognized Hindi as one of its official languages on this day in 1949. On September 14, 1949, the Indian Constitution, which was written in Devanagari, declared Hindi to be the nation’s official tongue. Additionally, India had its inaugural Hindi Day (Hindi Diwas) on September 14, 1953. Hindi is the native language of over 425 million people, while it is the second language of roughly 120 million people.

States like Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Bihar, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, and Punjab are among those where Hindi is most often spoken. Regarding nations, Hindi is also spoken in Nepal, Fuji, Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, and Mauritius.

Why is Hindi Diwas observed?

The Hindi Diwas is celebrated in part to counter the nation’s inclination toward using English more and more. Hindi was referred to as the people’s language by Mahatma Gandhi. In India, numerous literary and cultural activities are held in honor of Hindi Diwas. Aside from that, during Hindi Diwas, ministries, departments, public sector organizations, and public sector banks receive prizes such the Rajbasha Kirti Puraskar and the Rajbhasha Gaurav Puraskar for their contributions to and promotion of Hindi.

Simha, an Indian author who battled valiantly to get Hindi to the list of official languages, was born on this day as well.

Indian language diversity

In what is referred to as “the 8th Schedule” of the Constitution, India’s constitution recognizes 22 important Indian languages. Sanskrit, Assamese, Bangla, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kashmiri, Kannada, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, and Manipuri are among them.

Urdu, Santali, Santali, Sindhi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Marathi.

In the beginning, the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution only listed 14 languages. Later languages included Bodo, Dogri, Konkani, Maithili, Manipuri, Nepali, Santali, and Sindhi.